In many countries, people live longer and longer. Does this development have more disadvantages of advantages?

The advances in the medical field have increased the average life expectancy. In my opinion,the disadvantages outnumber the advantages. This essay will not argue that the drawbacks associated with overpopulation and scarcity of resources overpower the advantages related to economical gains. An increase in the duration of life has several disadvantages such as limitations in the availability of basic needs and an increase in the population. First of all, this will boost the number of citizens residing in a particular nation. This sudden rise in the population might overburden the healthcare sector. Also, the increased statistics of senior citizens will need more critical care because of which hospitals will be completely saturated providing little or no healthcare for the young. In addition to this, basic resources will be depleted at a rapid rate. Moreover,there will be a shortage of daily essentials like food and water. For example, the recent population growth spurt seen in India resulted in the shortage of water supply across draught-prone regions. Despite these significant downsides, there can be some economical benefits seen with an escalation in the number of people in a country. This means that there will be more citizens working in factories, industries and businesses. Therefore, this can boost the economy and the financial dividend. For example, in China the age of retirement was increased from sixty years to seventy years, this led to an increase in the sum of workers in many industries, which in turn gave the country many monetary benefits. Although this is a fair benefit, it is surely overpowered by disadvantages. In conclusion, the increased longevity of life has a good result on the economics of a nation. However, the downsides associated with the scarcity of vital resources and overpopulation are valid. Hence, I do not believe that the disadvantages are more than the advantages.