Nowadays, more and more people choose to do their shopping online instead of going to physical stores. Why is this so? What are the disadvantages of this trend?

Advances in technology have introduced us to online shopping. Many people now visit shopping websites to purchase goods instead of visiting shopping centres. This essay will first outline the reason for this which is the convenience of the buyer and then highlight the drawbacks of this which include payment of additional delivery costs and the purchase of defective products. To begin with, the main reason why many people are using websites to shop is that this process is convenient. One can sit in the comfort of their home and acquire a product of their choice. Moreover, this saves a lot of time and energy which would have been wasted travelling all the way to a mall or a supermarket. For instance, homemakers can procure groceries online, which are generally delivered in a span of a few minutes. Previously, people needed to walk up to the supermarket, buy the products and then come back home. This entire process used to consume an hour. However, there are a fair number of drawbacks associated with this such as paying extra money for the shipping costs and at times the product delivered might have certain defects. One significant disadvantage of this is the delivery cost which is generally added to the total cost and at times it is costlier than the commodity. This acts like an added expense and sometimes it is unreasonable. In addition to this, a commodity purchased through the net can be defective. This is highly inappropriate for the customer who has already paid money for the goods. For example, electrical appliances purchased through websites could have inherent functional problems and clothes bought can be of a different size. In conclusion, many potential customers prefer using technology to buy new things and this number is significantly increasing over time due to the convenience associated with this. However, this method of buying things has its downsides which include additional expenditure and delivery of improper goods.