Some people think that children should learn world history. Others believe that it is more important to learn the history of their own country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people argue that students should learn world history, while others say that it is paramount to learn about the past of their own nation.While learning about the history of one's own nation helps us get closer to understanding the culture and the values of our country, I believe that it is important to have knowledge about the events which have occurred in the world because this gives us a better idea about how people all around the globe function. On the one hand, some feel that knowing about the country's past brings us closer to our traditions. Which is important when it comes to preserving old rituals, languages and ancient practices. Moreover,without these countries will end up losing their uniqueness and diversity. For instance, certain languages like Sanskrit would have faded if the Indian citizens would have not read historical books about Ancient India such as the Upanishads. On the other hand, if children do not read about the events, important battles and personalities of important historical figures, they would have no idea about how the community functions and how political decisions are made. Furthermore, they will lack information about peace treaties, inspirational warriors and renowned artists from all over the globe. It is a well-known fact that the knowledge of the past has made good leaders. For instance, many top leaders of the world such as Barack Obama have an in-depth knowledge of history. In conclusion, although learning about one's nation is vital because it brings us closer to our roots, it is important that we do not forget the historical happenings which happened in other countries so that we have well-rounded information about this subject. Therefore, I am of the opinion that students should learn about events which happened all around the globe.