In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

This paper investigates the degree to which we should challenge global issues, such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. Some think it is the sole responsibility of the police to deal with crimes that are a product of these issues, while others believe that everyone has their part to play. To begin with, many consider the government to have absolute power and authority. Therefore, people expects them to reduce criminal activities, no matter the cause. For example, this may include a mother stealing a loaf of bread from her local grocery store in order to feed her famished children. Of course, she would be held accountable according to the law; nevertheless, the government is also at fault for not supporting her and members of the community could have provided help. However, there are instances where the police would be required, such as managing football riots or dealing with abuse. That said, many would argue that these instances are a product of alcohol and drug abuse. Society requires wider structures of assistance in order to reduce such eventualities. Therefore, I disagree that causes of crime, such as hunger, should only be handled by professional and trained officers. Instead, everyone can play a role in tackling worldwide issues; for instance, reducing university costs would make education more accessible to the poor. In addition, equal rights for all groups would mean that there is a lower percetange of joblessness amongst minority groups. In conclusion, authorities are integral when it comes to managing lawlessness and should aid in keeping the community safe from harm. Nevertheless, there are many factors that lead to illegal actions. All of society, worldwide should play their part in lessening such eventualities.