Nowadays, women, as well as men, work full-time. Therefore, women and men should share household tasks equally. (e.g. cleaning and looking after children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Full-time jobs these days are common for both genders, which started a controversial debate about whether men and women should share their domestic responsibilities equally. To some extent, I personally reckon that both of them should bear the household tasks together. On the one hand, when household tasks are given irrespective of gender, family members can develop better mutual understanding. By sharing many common duties in the house, both men and women can have more topics to initiate conversations at home, which allows them to foster the family bond. Moreover, when domestic chores are split equally, it is likely that none of the partners is overburdened by these unnamed responsibilities, which helps them to have more time for self-care, and for taking care of other family members. This can result in an improvement in the overall atmosphere at home. On the other hand, the division of house chores should depend on the characteristics of each person’s job and their health conditions. When the husband has a highly demanding job that requires a large amount of time in his day, the wife can be in charge of a greater load of household activities. However, when the wife is pregnant or in the postpartum period when even simple domestic duties are challenging to handle, the husband can take up a larger amount of tasks so that the family can maintain a positive and healthy living environment. By doing this, they can not only share the tasks but also be able to show special care to each other. To sum up, I am inclined towards the view that equal division in terms of house chores between men and women is encouraged since it can help people to enhance their bond within the family. However, domestic tasks can be split flexibly based on different workloads and the health conditions of the partners.