Some people believe that parents should choose the degree or the major for their child to study at university. Other feel that children should be able to choose their own degree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Across the globe, there has been a controversial issue as regards who is in the best position to choose a course of study for youngsters. Some believe it should be the responsibility of guardians while others see it as a role to be assumed by the students. This essay would be looking at both sides of the coin and also gives its opinion. On one hand, the genitor is in the best position to recommend a subject that can be advantageous to their children. This is because most of these parents have a prior experience of education's importance to the labour market. Moreover, some fathers are well knowledgeable about the occupation in demand in their country and they can easily forecast the trend of some professional courses in the next decade depending on the present state of the economy. For instance, information technology took the lead in the last twenty years in the United States of America. By implication, students who graduated from this department would be highly demanded in the labour market. Hence, the importance of co-parents' involvement in their child's course of study cannot be overemphasized. On the other hand, scholars should be given the opportunity to make a decision about their programme based on their personal preferences. A major reason for this is that youth tends to do well in a subject they have an interest in than others. Moreso, it is important to give priority to their interest since they remain the major determinant of their success in life. An instance is a research carried out by the guidance and counselling department of the University of Ibadan on youths who follow their personal ambition against their parents' choice revealed that they excel in a career better than others. There is no doubt that personal interest tends to facilitate great success in most life endeavours. In the writer's opinion, the genitor should give their offspring the liberty to make individual resolutions as regards the path of career they wish to follow in as much it measures up with societal norms and values. In conclusion, youth should ensure they place high preference on their zeal and passion for a particular subject before taking it up as a profession. Moreso, fathers and mothers should jointly motivate, support and encourage students in their conclusion as regards their choice of degree.