children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at school and at home. To what extent you agree or disagree?

The increase in technological advances worldwide has made screen time possible in every possible location. While some believe that their offspring can effectively learn by watching TV and feel that this practice should be encouraged both at school and home, I must express that I believe in the complete opposite and disagree. On the one hand, many will agree as they feel that watching TV provides insightful information. For example, there are many TV shows which are specially designed for babies to adolescents ranging from nursery rhymes to scientific shows respectively. As a result, this can be very informative as many children may be visual and auditory learners, therefore picking up key information. On the other hand, my thoughts are to completely disagree and hold the opinion that TV can have many long-lasting negative implications. For instance, research suggests that prolonged TV hours can lead to a sedentary lifestyle, ultimately causing obesity which in turn can lead to increased risks of cardiovascular diseases, diabetes and increased blood pressure. Secondly, too much exposure to TV light can disrupt sleep cycles making it difficult to have a peaceful sleep. For instance, research proved that children exposed to TV light have altered levels of melatonin, inducing more wake time and less sleep. As a result, children are more tired and less active. Lastly,digital dependency and screen addiction has become a nuisance over time. To cite an example, studies suggest that if a child had the option to choose between TV time or reading a book they would much prefer to choose the former, consequently causing a decrease in creativity and intelligence. Thus, we can clearly see how increased use of screen time at both home and school can negatively impact our youth. To conclude, I strongly disagree and must emphasise that TV time should be limited as substantially long hours of TV time can have profound effects physically and mentally and should be avoided at home as well as school.