In some countries, small town-center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Nowadays, an increasing number of individuals are arguing about the changes in the retail industry between the countryside and the megalopolis and its impact on public transportation. Whether the citizens from rural areas should go shopping in urban areas and the concerns of increasing use of automobiles have caused a heated debate recently. I believe that the positive benefits of this change over its negative impact. First, the trend of consuming at shopping malls in the heart of the metropolitan area is key to boosting economic expansion. It is obvious that urbanization is an inevitable and irreversible process with strong economic growth, which also reflects in the categories of goods consumption. As a result, citizens not only just purchase basic daily necessities provided by local shops, but also filter valuable and multi-functional stuff offered by city stores. For example, Sanya is a successful example which is well-known for its duty-free stores, where mainly locate downtown, to attract tourists from not only the rural areas but also all over the nation. Moreover, as far as the demanding use of a car, it is the vigorous growth of the economy that increase the transport flows, in particular the cars, not the development of department stores in the metropolis. However, if there is no limitation on utilizing private cars, it may be threatened to our environment. Therefore, in terms of technology, using alternative fuels and developing renewable green energy is both an ecological and environmental necessity. As for the public, it is never too late to raise their green awareness. So far, to cope with this conflict, providing free shuffle busses from the countryside to downtown is an imperative and practical solution to fulfil consumers’ needs, which can help those shoppers who have restricted access to the city centre and prevent them from using cars. In sum, people should be encouraged to spend expenditure in shopping centres but should be accompanied by affording the optimal vehicle to those in need. Not only companies but also individuals should embrace the changes and adapt to the new modern society. Only by doing so, can the country have sustainable development.