In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is opinionated that the bullet train is a primary solution to move people between cities effectively and excites new development. While some folks agree with those views, others are reluctant to the plan as it is better to be allocated for existing public transport improvement. I believe that the benefits of the railway will outweigh its drawbacks. To begin with, the bullet train is a groundbreaking project that surely will bring many benefits to people. Firstly, it has been proven to be the most effective way to link cities, especially over long distances. The long travel time between two cities that are separated by more than a thousand miles could be reduced to only less than thirty minutes. For instance, The Shinkansen, linking Tokyo and Osaka, only needs 25 minutes from start to end station, giving benefits to the Japanese. Secondly, the bullet trains will galvanize the development around the station it passed by. Many new infrastructures will be built around the station as societies see the area attractive because of easy commuting. On the other hand, some people argue that the significant amount of money for the trains should be used on improving existing public transport. Many other transport modes such as buses and trams often have tight budgets, meanwhile, their maintenance costs are high. It leads to poor qualities that need further improvement. Despite its bad condition, the number of users is very significant and many citizens rely on this mode. Thus, the national budget should be used to improve the current transportation modes. To summarize, although a large budget should be used to repair the existing public rides, the railway might give many benefits such as linking cities faster and galvanizing new development.