It is recommended by some lawmakers to punish the parents in place of their children who have commited less serious crimes like disorderly conduct or theft. They say that this will force parents to become more responsible in taking care of their children. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Some argue that criminal juveniles, such as disorderly conduct or theft, arise due to a lack of parental attention. Therefore, some lawmakers recommend punishing parents for their children ’s destructive behaviours, forcing them to care for their children more closely. I agree with this statement, however, from an ethical perspective, I think children should be taught to hold responsible for their own actions. On the one hand, parents need to take the responsibility for their children ’s bad behaviour. Since parents take the main role of raising their children, they should teach them what is right and wrong and give them a good education. With good instructions, children will grow up as responsible people and are reluctant to involve in criminal activities. In other words, parents ought to be aware of and control their children's behaviours. This burden will let them take care of their children more closely hence reducing criminal juveniles. On the other hand, some opponents suppose that children should be taken responsibility for their own crimes. Punishing their parents is a way of blaming and not trying to resolve the problem. For example, some rebellious youngers take illegal actions because of the negative influence of their friends. And it is easier for teenagers to commit other crimes as they know their parents will take the responsibility but not themselves. I personally think everyone including children should be responsible for their own behaviour. In conclusion, even though parents take the responsibility to supervise and correct their children ’s behaviours, they can not be blamed for others’ actions. The two concepts are not mutually exclusive, which indicates that they are both accountable.