Some people say that drug companies have a responsibility to spend money researching medicines that will help people in poor countries. Others say that the main responsibility of drug companies is to make money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the responsibility of the drug industry. While some people argue that medicine companies should focus on making a profit, I believe that both social responsibilities and commercial needs should be satisfied. On the one hand, medicine manufacturers should be responsible for investments to help impoverished populations. Firstly, it is morally right to help those who are in need. It costs only a tiny amount of money for drug giants to develop new medicines that can make poor people live a healthy life. For example, a lot of African children are suffering from malaria, which can sometimes be deadly, and they have no means to receive or afford effective medicines. By donating money or sending free drugs to them, the drug industry can easily save their lives. Secondly, researching new drugs not only save impoverished people but also boost the development of the medical industry. These new drugs can be further used for patients around the world. On the other hand, revenue is essential to drug companies as well. Without sufficient income, they would be unlikely to pay salaries to their employees. This makes it impossible to maintain any scientific research on medicines. Medicine companies are not charities. They are responsible for their investors, employees and scientists. Profit is an essential factor to keep any company running. However, making money should and could not be the main purpose of the drug industry. If the only purpose of a drug company is to make a profit, then the price of drugs will be unaffordable for many patients. This will have a detrimental impact on humans' future. In conclusion, I believe that the medical industry should make money and take social responsibility to help people in impoverished nations.