Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the question of whether the states or private enterprises should bear the responsibility for conducting scientific research remains a source of controversy. While there are minor positive aspects of this trend in the short term, I would argue that overall, these are outweighed by enormous disadvantages. On the one hand, one advantage is that private companies are incentive to innovate and contribute to the public good. Examples of this behaviour abound though they are less likely to receive excessive media attention. Such breakthroughs include medicines such as, very recently, the vaccines for Covid-19 developed by Pfizer, and the technologies that big corporations such as Apple, and Google have pioneered over the decade. These private enterprises are able to hire and remunerate the best employees and are often driven by competition to be innovative and strive to make discoveries that benefit the general citizenry On the other hand, I believe that there are significant benefits if states determine the direction of scientific research for the well-being of their people. Those in favour of state control over research argue that governments are not motivated to generate revenue. Moreover, the highest standards can be set by providing funding for university departments to carry out high-quality research to meet public needs, not to break into new markets or gain a competitive edge. As competition between companies is eliminated, the sharing of knowledge through international cooperation among the scientific community becomes prevalent. In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of placing the responsibility for scientific research in the government's hands far outweigh any disadvantages.