These days many kids spend a lot of their time playing computer games instead of doing sports. What is the cause of this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the recent world, the number of young children devoting their majority of time on online games has been increasing rapidly. As a result, they do not spend time on outdoor sports as much as they used to do. I would like to raise some key causes of this phenomenon and finally to state my opinion that this behaviour is an unwelcome one overall. To start with, I believe there are a few key reasons accelerating this young segment's unbalanced time allocation. The most prominent one is the recent societal environment which does not allow kids to play freely outside anymore. For example, the COVID-19 pandemic locked down towns and all citizens required to spend majority of their times indoors. The air pollution is another example, so as social turmoils in some of the European countries, all forced kids to stay home and play by themselves. The other important element is the significant technical advancement of online games. For instance, the quality of games became so high, they give us wonderful experience experiencecs in the cyber world. There is no doubt that an increasing number of people are attracted to the online games. On the contrary, this rapid spread of internet games has critical negative aspects especially for the growth of young students. First, they spend too much time on the device and have not enough time playing outdoors with their friends. Undoubtedly, this is bad for their healthy physical growth. In addition, the lack of physical communications with their peers may bring defect to their communication skill development. Furthermore, their relationship building capability will decrease in a long run. In conclusion, I believe there are a few key elements pushing kids to play online rather than doing sports. Namely, the current environments in society and the cutting edge advancement of computer games. This, in my opinion, has huge demerits to the development of young segment, such as negative impacts it causes for their physical growth and relationship and communication skill enhancements.