These days many advertisements are aimed at children. What effect do you think they have? Should advertising to children be more controlled and regulated?

Advertisements directed to kids are on the rise as marketers have found them highly profitable. Although parental supervision exists, there are concerning consequences derived from early exposure to consumerism that should not be neglected. My perspective is that advertising to children should have strict control and regulation. The most concerning effect regards the future unconscious materialism that will affect society in general. For example, when they start buying in their young years, people tend to disregard the impact of such behaviour. Another worrisome issue is the accumulation of useless toys that end up in landfills. The major constituent of the goods bought by KIDS is cheap plastic which could even be toxic. As a consequence, more and more unnecessary utils are produced and discharged into the environment. It is, therefore, clear that measures should be taken to mitigate these unfortunate consequences. A good example comes from countries that banned toxic plastics. However, that is not enough to deal with the problem as there is a lack of oversight in the rest of the world. Thus, there is a pressing need for regulation and control. In conclusion, in my opinion, the detrimental effects of child consumerism must be avoided by means of increasing awareness in all viable media. Also, quality control of the products must be regulated by governmental agencies.