Today people are wasting lots of food. what are the reasons? What can be done to reduce the amount of food waste?

Nowadays one of the major problems is that more and more foods are being wasted all around the world. This habit comes from many reasons and we must find solutions for this. There are two main reasons why consumers are wasting a huge amount of food. Firstly, with the development of new technologies and the increasingly high standard of living, human is now producing more food, which often exceeds what we really need. Consequently, a lot of food will become expired after a long period of falling into disuse and be thrown as waste. Secondly, the food -wasting habit also comes from the lack of awareness of the importance of food. Many schools focus more on teaching academic subjects and exams than teaching social issues such as poverty or famine, resulting in students not understanding the importance of food. Knowing the reasons for food waste One of the effective measures to this issue is that government should be involved in campaigns to raise people’s awareness of the essence of food via some channels such as television broadcasting or social media so that people can stop wasting food. Furthermore, some rules should be implemented to punish people that waste food. For instance, in Vietnam, some restaurants make their customers pay one hundred thousand VND for each kilogram of food they waste. Therefore, the amount of food being wasted in their restaurants is significantly reduced. In conclusion, food waste is an urgent problem these days and there are many reasons for this. Therefore, solutions must be made to prevent this happen before it’s too late.