nowadays, more and more jobs and tasks which involve hard physical work and done by machines. Do the positive effects of this trend outweith the negative effects?

In this technological era, much manual work, especially physically demanding work, can be carried out by machinery and robots. Although this trend has drawbacks, its advantages are much more significant. On the one hand, we cannot deny that an increasing number of robotic workers lead to a climbing unemployment rate. Before the invention of computerised machines, industrial companies can always provide a considerable number of employment opportunities for low-skilled jobs such as porters and assemblers in factories while sometimes failing to hire enough people. Nowadays, in contrast, the number of such job positions is much less than before due to the popularity of automatic workers. As a result, an unthinkable group of people who do not have academic qualifications from universities find it difficult to find a job. On the other hand, the merits of this development totally outshine the aforementioned drawback. First of all, computers and computer-based technology have led to a much more streamlined and efficient workplace. Generally speaking, robot workers can work non-stop for 24 hours, whereas humans can only work for 8 hours according to labour law. In addition, computer-based calculation allows non-human machines to finish tasks without a single mistake. For that reason, the production cost can be largely minimised due to their outstanding work efficiency and great productivity. On top of that, people can prevent themselves from hurting themselves due to occupational hazards. Recent research from Chinese governments shows that in China, around 80,000 victims working in factories were injured or killed by incidents every year because of careless operations or unexpected coincidences. If machines undertake all the risky and heavy work, the number of such unfortunate tragedies would be considerably reduced. To sum up. Although machine-based technologies result in a high unemployment rate, they ensure adequate productivity for businesses and the safety of individuals. Therefore, this improvement should be encouraged and developed.