A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

It is undeniable that urban areas often benefit disproportionately from the rising living standards of a country compared to rural areas. This essay will explain several major pressing issues, yet solutions are available to address these challenges effectively. Admittedly, there are a number of problems why overall growth in a country's living standards is beneficial to people in cities. First and foremost, one of these is migration to cities. As villagers migrate to urban areas in search of a better quality of life, education and job opportunities, causing labour shortages in villages. This, in turn, leads to overcrowding in cities and even food shortages as a result of population growth. On top of that, a decline in agriculture and the rural economy might be another main obstacle to unequal benefits of a rising standard of living. This is because, with less investment in rural areas, agriculture is more likely to face challenges, ranging from food security and livelihoods. For instance, in many African regions, young people leave villages, contributing to abandoned farmlands. As a consequence, the whole rural areas population suffer from labour shortages to deal with agriculture and local industries. To tackle these issues, the government's role is critical. Initially, in terms of reducing migration, the government should give an opportunity to improve living standards. If it provides quality education and vocational training, rural residents can gain access to better chances without needing to migrate. Rural dwellers, in effect, are more likely to stay there and boost their economy. Secondly, to mitigate agricultural problems, the government's role is also useful, this is why if the government offers subsidies and breaks taxes in suburban and rural areas, individuals must adopt a more balanced perspective on rural living, appreciating these opportunities which create new job chances. People, consequently, have a chance to deal with local industries and agriculture with remarkable tax breaks and subsidies, leading to a reduction of migration as well as avoidance of Labour and food shortages in both rural and urban areas. To conclude, although the disparity in living standards between cities and villages creates considerable difficulties as a result of migration, it can be alleviated through the concerted effort of governments since they reduce taxes, offer subsidies as well as provide higher educational systems and skill development.