Some young people like to copy the behaviour and clothes of famous people today. Why might this be the case? What problem can it cause?

There is no doubt that popular individuals are more frequently becoming role models for a large number of people from all over the world. These influencers are attractive, rich and confident, making their image so desirable to others, especially to youngsters. With the nowadays wide use of social media, there is no surprise that some teenagers are trying to copy their favourite star's looks or even habits. The root cause of such behaviour can be linked to the desire for success and higher status. Teenagers are dreaming about being wealthy and famous just like their favourite pop stars. For instance, copying the styles or habits of successful individuals makes youngsters feel more important and valuable. It helps them to be more confident in themselves as if they were as well-known as some actors or sportsmen. However, this kind of copying may cause some serious psychological issues. Young people, who pursue the behavior or the look of others, can lose their individuality. For example, kids might get too deep into the image so they will have difficulties reflecting on their thoughts and beliefs. This may become a serious issue for broader teenagers ' self-identification process and distress their mental health. To put it in a nutshell, copying famous people can make teenagers feel more confident and valuable in society, boosting their self-confidence and well-being. However, there are potential associated risks to their self-identification if the copying replaces their own beliefs and thoughts. In the most negative scenario, this may affect an individual's psychological well-being and heavily impact youngsters' mental health.