Some think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Our ancestors created ancient buildings either to facilitate or protect themselves, many of them were built for entertainment purposes also. Some people opine that we should demolish these structures and construct the latest ones instead of plenty of funds to be devoted to the preservation and maintenance of these ancient buildings. I partially agree with the argument considering that we should preserve our history to remain attached to our past, however, if any buildings are structurally unstable, then they may need to be knocked down for safety reasons. Firstly, the ancient buildings are representing our past culture and the artefacts of our ancestors, hence by destroying them we will be losing our past and the next generation will be detached from our cultural history. For example, the pyramids of Giza are a historical monument and reflect the rich cultural history of Egypt, hence demolishing them will lose their importance and people will forget the past. Secondly, many structures resemble the earlier architecture which is extinct and hence it is our duty to protect them, for instance, the architecture of the Taj Mahal is one of a kind and an inspiration for many modern buildings, thus it is an obligation of the global village to maintain such marvels. On the other hand, there are many earlier buildings which are not structurally safe, in such cases, the authorities should access such structures and decide whether it needs to be knocked down and construct new ones as per the contemporary epoch or not. However, if past buildings have heritage importance then every attempt has been made to preserve the same. The funding for protecting these structures can be collected by charging fees to the visitors and hence it will not be a burden on the local public or the governments. In conclusion, it is worthwhile to spend money on looking after and repairing ancient buildings and to carry forward the past to future generations, but at the same time stability of the structure needs to be accessed and necessary steps to be taken accordingly.