People believe that individuals who make a lot of money are the most successful. Others say that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are the most successful. Discuss both and give your opinion.

Today, the proper definition of success is constantly varying. Whether it is those who can make a fortune out of their businesses or people who create socially contributory values that exemplify success is still a matter of controversy. The essay below will shed light on both perspectives and give reasons why the author is in favor of the latter one. On the one hand, it is asserted that the sum one can earn is a reflection of how achieving that person is. In fact, the incomes of well-paid people could be spent on costly purchases, such as impressive accommodations or golden watches, which are believed to signal high attainment in life. In that way, money becomes one of the widely accepted measurements to evaluate the worthiness of an individual. However, now that people gradually recognize more aspects of life rather than just financial sufficiency, the importance of money is depleting. Hence, in the modern day, affluent people may not be quintessential cases of achievement. On the other hand, I strongly opine it is not money that makes up the definition of a successful person but the influence that person brings to the community. To rationalize this, gaining in popularity among the young these days is the mindset that the true values of a lifetime do not lie in the achievements within it, but in the heritages that are left behind. Rather than money that could only be individually beneficial and short-lasting, social legacies are shared properties among humankind and would be highly sustainable by being handed over to our descendants. Specifically, teachers and scientists may not make as much out of their careers as entrepreneurs. Still, they are all honorable role models in society for the meaning of their lives to others’, which particularly are, for the former, advancements that improve our living conditions and for the latter ones, the knowledge delivered to our future leaders that would accompany them for long in life. All in all, as the world is changing, the most exemplary figures of success are now people who generate ontributory contributors, far-reaching and long-lasting fruitions to society, particularly scientists and teachers.