The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve the crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it could be said that due to the development of technology in maintaining and enforcing the law, the number of crimes is declining. From my viewpoint, I agree partly with this statement. On the one hand, thanks to the evolution of technology, the government has a clear opportunity to control society. To begin with, by using several modern devices such as security cameras or automatic alarms, numerous potential criminals might give up the intention of falling foul of the law. Besides, tracking crimes might become easier because police can rely on the memory of cameras in order to know where they happen. Moreover, reports to the local authority about people who commit infractions could be done sooner compared to the past. There are several ways for citizens to inform the police about offences such as calling directly to the police station or texting the local police on social media. For instance, in Vietnam, when people want to report a crime to the police, they can call a hotline instead of going to the police station. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that these state-of-the-art technologies could become useful tools for criminals. First, an offence can be committed on the internet by an increasing number of white-collar crimes that are gifted at technology. They can take part in unlawful acts without having to go directly to the actual crime scene where they want to create the infractions. For instance, many hackers just need a small-sized laptop and they can even attack websites with the gov domain, which belongs to the government. Second, the rising number of people using electronic devices could be a chance for cyber criminals to steal information. Without taking any action of protecting personal information, hackers can have a huge ability to access one's devices and take all the information including bank accounts or numerous crucial passwords. In conclusion, although the evolution of technology might help reduce crime rates, it is my firm belief that it can also become a potential area for new crimes.