Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many individuals believe that prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. I agree with the notion as they should be given a second chance to prove themselves. This essay shall discuss the details of my stance with examples in subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, the main advantage of making prisoners do social work is that it helps in improving the nation economically and socially. In other words, inmates can be thought to make handicrafts items and clean and maintain public places. Additionally, this gives them a chance to reform themselves and become productive in society. For instance, inmates in Japan do support services like cleaning parks, sweeping roads and making handmade bags. Thus, these activities aid the government in improving the country. Furthermore, there are negative effects of this trend. Firstly, cruel and dreaded jailbirds should be given stringent punishment for their acts of crime. Moreover, they may escape and create crime if they are left outside. In addition, they should be jailed, so that, an example is made out of it and the community should fear committing crimes. To cite an example, as per a report, many inmates escaped prison during a social activity in China. Hence, antisocial elements became free and may cause harm to society and its communities. In conclusion, although these people may be dangerous to society, they can be used to help people by doing social welfare. Therefore, it is necessary to keep a proper guard on these folks and guide them to be beneficial to the community.