In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a house with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, a large number of youngsters make the decision to leave their parents' homes after finishing high school. They decide to live in accommodation by themselves or to share it with other people. In my opinion, this is an extremely positive trend because they can start to be independent and more responsible. In this essay I will explain my point of view and I will also provide some examples. To begin with, leaving their childhood house is a huge step for young individuals. Until that moment, they used to live with their parents, without any concern about the house, food and cleanliness of their spaces. When a young person decides to do this change in his life, he has to change his mindset, by understanding that now he is the owner of the house and he has to be responsible for it. His tasks will be cooking food, cleaning and make the laundry, for example. This situation will make him develop a strong responsibility, because now he has to take care of himself, without the help of his parents. In addition, a decision like this lead to a monthly rent to pay for the accommodation, This means that young people have to work in order to pay it. When the individual starts to pay the rent with his own money, inevitably he makes a switch in his mind. He will be more mature, and at the same time he will be more economically independent thanks to his salary. For instance, when I decided to leave Italy to come to Australia, more precisely to Melbourne, I had to start to work hard to pay the rent of my apartment, and this made me more independent and very responsible. To conclude, in my opinion, start living on their own after high school can benefit the development of young people, because they can develop strong maturity, and personal growth by becoming more responsible and financially independent. Furthermore, I think that more people should make this decision as soon as possible in order to create their future.