Writing task 2 (an essay) Even though experts believe that walking is a great way to improve one's health, very few people walk nowadays. Why aren't people walking? What can be done to encourage them to walk more?

It has recently been discovered by professionals that strolling is a form of exercise that contribute largely to the growth and development of every individual. This essay would be considering laziness and working lifestyle as a reason for this trend and would be suggesting measures that can be put in place to improve this type of mobility. Firstly, walking is an exercise that must be carried out by every individual in order to stay fit and healthy. However, the hectic working schedule of people has deprived them of carrying out this type of movement. This is because many wake up very early to get to their place of work on or before the stipulated resumption time through the fastest means of transportation they can access. For example, many staffs of British Africa Tobacco are always in haste to catch up with their organisation bus as early as 6a.m in order to be punctual at work. This has resulted in an awkward lifestyle because little or no time is given to strolling and since it is most effective to be carried out in the morning or late in the evening but most workers would have been exhausted from the day's activities thereby placing no importance on trekking at the close of their working hour. Additionally, some individuals are lazy to cover the distance with their legs as they perceive trekking as a poverty lifestyle which they cannot embrace. However, government and Non-governmental organizations are in the best position to apprise the populace about the benefits of walking to their health as an individual. People tend to embrace information received from officials or professionals as they know it would benefit them greatly. Moreover, the government can also provide a conducive pedestrian pathway for citizens to encourage strolling habits for them since many are discouraged by the pollution they are exposed to when walking on busy roads. In conclusion, the general public should be sensitised about the benefits of trekking distances on daily basis to their health and more infrastructural facilities should be put in place to encourage leg mobility.