The most important function of music is that it helps people reduce stress. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most people believe that the predominant intent of music is to assist in diminishing stress on an individual. In my opinion, it is just one of the numerous benefits, besides it has many other significant functions. It is understandable that a wide group of the public follow it to relieve stress while it does serve various things. One of the crucial reasons for not aligning with this view is music serves different purposes depending on the ambience, mood, individual preferences, and circumstances of a person listening to it. For instance, the public enjoys loud and catchy beat songs in the pub whereas at home when emotionally low the same people prefer pleasant full melodious songs. Moreover, every individual has their own choice of music genre based on likeliness. Therefore, few people listen to rejuvenate their minds and soul while others prefer to divert their minds. The primary intent is to elevate the emotion within a person by releasing hormones that stimulate emotions such as joy, sadness, and happiness. For example, an individual listening to love melodies helps in stimulating feelings and reminiscing about the other person he or she is in love with. Besides the listener, the actual musician would have a similar experience while playing music. Hence, a plethora of musicians has been becoming popular day by day irrespective of the genre and language. In conclusion, music has a wide range of usages depending on the individual choice as well as the circumstances. So, I strongly affirm that the main objective is not just stress reduction.