Some people think that the only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a lot of discussion on how to improve security on our roads. Some people think that in order to decrease the number of accidents there should be stricter punishments for driving offences. Although this might help, I believe that the impact would be minimal. I firmly believe that to increase safety on our commute there should be better planning on how they construct the roads and also in public transportation availability, in this essay I will point out the reasons and examples for my opinion. First, hefty fines do not always work, one example is how Brazil increased the punishment for drunk driving, increasing the value of the fine and also making it a crime. But this had the initial effect of decreasing the number of driving under influence related accidents, however, over time drivers grew accustomed to it and rates came back to the same levels as before. Also, most municipalities do not have enough resources to diverge to this kind of inspection, making the punishment not as believable. Secondly, the construction of roads has a huge impact on how individuals drive. As an example, large lanes might bring a feeling of security to the driver and they might drive with less awareness and not check their speed as often. Therefore, roads that also are made to share the space with cars and pedestrians might have a huge influence on the number of accidents. Lastly, there are other mechanisms of traffic control and security, that are more effective and cheaper than fines. One of the main ones is investing in public transportation. Taking people out of the cars and making them use public buses or trains put more professional drivers on the road and remove more aloof from the roads, thus decreasing the risk of accidents. In conclusion, although stricter punishments might look like a good solution, they would have an effect only in the short run. For more lasting effects the design of roads and also how public transportation is available to have a more effective impact.