Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should read only those books that are about real events, real people, and established facts. Use specific reasons and details to support your opinion.

Books can be a great source of information. There are a lot of them published about a myriad of topics, important events, and crucial figures in history and science. In addition, they can also they fictional stories and be a good activity for any leisure time, thus I do not agree that only non-fictional should be read and, in this essay, I will point out the reasons. Firstly, fictional stories also have historical importance, writers such as Shakespeare, Tolstoy, and Edgar Alan Poe, tell stories about fictional experiences but can teach a lot about literature, poetry and sociology, making readers understand how the author’s society might be and how people behaved in the past. In my formative,years it was mandatory to read Machado de Assis in my high school curriculum, reading this author helped me a lot with understanding how 19th century Brazil worked and how some societal norms came to be, even nowadays. Secondly, reading has been in decline over the years, thus gatekeeping what one should read would decrease even more the take-up of this hobby, as not everyone is interested in historical figures and events. Each person should choose what works best for them in the initial stages and then if they want, they might work up to more technical subjects. I, myself was really interested in novels from an early age, but when I tried to read about real people I could not keep myself reading for long periods and would often not finish them, however, when I buy science fiction novels I can stay hours and hours reading. Finally, they also can be used to escape reality, to create different worlds, in a relationship of the reader with the writer, therefore people should read whatever they please. In conclusion, although non-fictional books have a great deal of importance in sharing information, each individual reads a book for a personal reason and their choice should not be judged, everyone has different preferences and should be respected in that sense. Likewise, fictional books are really important to understand other periods and a great way to rest.