You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce, and money is the most important reason/factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Employees are encouraged to perform in workplaces due to a variety of reasons. It is often argued that money is the key factor that motivates people to stay in these places for a longer period of time. Although I agree with this assertion, there are other factors which motivate employees to stay in an organisation for many years. First off, finance is the key factor which runs the world and helps humans manage demand and supply. Funds help humans to satisfy their needs and wants. When employees are given increments or higher salaries, they may able to improve their living standards. For instance, when employees are paid bonuses, they may invest in houses, and vehicles and help them to achieve their personal goals, Hence, motivating them to stay in a place for a prolonged period and perform at an optimum level. Moreover, employees work in extremely stressful environments, and due to high salaries, they may go travelling and spend some time with family and friends to relax and reduce their stress. This may be possible when they have enough funds to spend on leisure activities. On the other hand, there are various other reasons which benefit staff to become loyal to their employers. Staffs like to perform at the optimum level when they work in an environment, where they will be treated well and their job roles are connected with their passion. This may lead to them improving their skills and delivering the expected output. Further, Staff may like to move up their career ladder and achieve their ultimate goals such as becoming executive officers,managers, or directors in their respective divisions. Therefore, there are many other factors that could influence employee retention in a company for a longer period. To sum up, companies can retain workers to a certain extent when they are paid well. However, there are many other reasons that could influence workers retention because of good working culture, clear career path and meeting workers' passion.