Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are two opposing views about whether the extinction of certain lives is the primary environmental problem or not. While it is important to protect the biodiversity of our planet, I believe there are some more significant environmental issues that need to be tackled. It is true that the loss of particular creatures may pose a threat to human-being, which is usually irreversible. It is well established that all plants and animals play irreplaceable roles in nature. They have an effect on each other. The extinction of any species mains the ecological system would be damaged, and normally leads to a break in the balance of different creatures. For example, if certain birds that usually eat a certain species of harmful insect died out, then this kind of insect is likely to destroy crops which are the main source of food for humans. However, some environmental problems can cause a more direct impact on human living. First of all, air pollution has a long-term negative effect on our health, especially for those who live in big cities. Second, global warming has become a worldwide crisis, which leads to numerous unexpected threats in our daily lives, such as the frequent extraordinary climates, and the rising level of seawater. Moreover, not only the water but also the noise pollution is significantly harmful to our well-being. Besides, more environmental problems need to be paid closer attention to, in case they become larger issues. In conclusion, it is necessary to take care of the species of animals and plants, at the same time, other environmental problems that have significant direct effects on people should be given higher priority.