In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

In recent years, it is undeniable that the youth enjoy longer lives and better health, but are not truly satisfied, despite all the material possessions they own. I would argue that there is one principal reason for this tendency why they are not happier, and some steps should be introduced to improve the situation. Young people living in affluence and having good health do not always translate into happiness. One possible reason is the disintegration of families. In the modern world, young members of families may often be scattered across continents in the world due to study or work commitments, thus, family reunions may be unachievable. Adolescents might be deprived of the possibility to interact in person with their relatives or close friends, and consequently, they could not confide weal and woe, for instance, during their depression or when they are confronting heavy workloads. A great deal of individualism, that is to say, the lack of family bonding is the primary reason why young people feel miserable. Fortunately, there are several ways to deal with the situation. One possible solution would be the work-life balance. Young adolescents should try to manage the equilibrium state of their careers and personal life. Recent research conducted by scientists reveals that if people spend a few hours a day with their near and dear ones, they are physically and emotionally fit. For example, arranging a small trip is an ideal way to spend some quality time with family which could make people feel laid-back and unwind. In conclusion, it may be reasonable why adolescents are disconsolate even though they are prospering, living healthier and having long life spans. I would suggest that by improving time management, young people could develop into happier citizens of the future.