There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Apparently, there is an increase in the rate of illegal actions which are done annually. It is considered by some that capital punishment is the best method to deter the problem, while most people think some other approaches prevent criminals from doing offenses. As far as I am concerned, the second group have a better point due to the reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, execution serves as a remedy for decreasing the number of crimes. Supporters of this perspective believe that by sentencing a person who has committed a major offence, such as murder or rape, other social members will be warned to be more careful about their behaviour and actions. Moreover, in order to maintain justice in society, not only do the victims need to be sure that supported are their rights, but also their family members have to be properly defended. On the other hand, the majority of people think that other possible measures ought to be performed to tackle the problem. In other words, each person has the right to live, the government and society should, therefore, give them an opportunity to rebuild their lives rather than sentencing them to death. For instance, so effective can be a life sentence that several countries have widely implemented. Personally, I suppose that authorities need to pave the way for offenders by more humanistic enforcement, say, vocational training or rehabilitation classes to educate the guilty ones as well. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions about how to reduce the number of crimes either by death sentence or minor penalties, I assume that lawbreakers will face a better future if they are given another chance in their lives.