In many countries people are living alone or in small households rather than large, extended families. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In numerous countries, there has been a noticeable shift toward individuals living alone or in a small family rather than in extended households. While there are many drawbacks, I am convinced that it is a positive development overall. A key advantage of living alone is that it develops financial freedom and decision-making instinct. This stems from the fact that solitary people are more prior to take responsibility when they come across money-related issues and try to make the right decision to handle the problem without expecting help from anyone. Should people try to tackle the difficulties in life alone, they leave behind an intelligent generation who ready to face challenges in the future. For instance, in overseas countries, adults who reach 18 leave their home and take a step towards independent living, so that this kind of countries have more intelligent, knowledgeable and problem-solving skills at more higher level rather than relying on their parents for financial and mental support. This clearly demonstrates that loneliness improves them in every aspect and prepares them for independent life. On the other hand, living alone has another notable drawback is that it exacerbates the feeling of longing close family member. This can be attributed to improved stress hormone and other health-related issues. Should this problem remain unresolved, it harms an individual’s attempts at personal growth. For example, a student who goes to another city for university may miss their family and hometown deeply. However, these drawbacks are relatively minor compared to the long-term benefits. In conclusion, having considered the key drawback, I firmly believe that living alone has more substantial advantages.