The most important consideration when choosing any career or job is having a high income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not higher remuneration is a vital element when selecting a job. However, many argue that job satisfaction should be the most significant determinant to choose a career path. Personally, I strongly agree with the latter viewpoint and this essay will extensively explain the reasons to support my opinion based on real-life examples. To begin with, in most cases, all well-paid careers are incredibly demanding, to illustrate with an example, jibs in the legal and investment banking industry, inherently expect employees to put in a minimum of 80-hour workweeks, as a result, those employees lose control of their work-life balance, and are too exhausted by the end of the week, to spend all the money they earned. Moreover, this devastating lifestyle leads to numerous health problems in a long run. In a marked contrast, choosing a career which gives you significant job satisfaction proves to be a better choice in making a person happy. Furthermore, a working environment where one’s ideas are truly appreciated, then ensures that employees get a deep sense of contribution. Moreover, leading to increased levels of satisfaction. One recent survey of 1000 legal mid-level executives indicated that the characteristics of a work-life balance were ranked much higher than the compensation. In addition, having spent a good day at work, employees can spend quality time with their beloved ones or pursuing a hobby. In a nutshell, I absolutely agree that considering money in choosing a career or job should not be a prior reason. Individuals need to weigh the pros and cons of other factors as well and take a well-thought-of decision.