Some people think developing countries should invite foreign companies to open branches, offices and factories to promote their economies. Others say that they should keep the foreign companies out and depend more on their own local companies. Describe both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, some individuals believe that the best way to boost economies in developing countries is attracting international companies’ investment, while other portions of society believe that it is better to rely on domestic companies. I agree with the former one because many developing countries are not wealthy enough to depend on themselves. On the one hand, it can be argued that while inviting international companies’ investment might changes its financial circumstances, it can also cause some issues. Firstly, the construction of branches and offices might have a detrimental impact on natural resources offered by their environment. For example, because of foreign businesses’ investment and tourism development, trees and birds are threatened with extinction in Malaysia, a place with rich natural resources. Secondly, this can certainly harm the culture and history of developing countries. Namely, the younger generation might abandon the traditional way of life and embrace a damaging culture of accumulating wealth and possessions. On the other hand, choosing to invest in developing countries have a plethora of advantages such as the possibility to reach millions of consumers and low-cost labour, which has long been a very important element to consider when making global capital investment decisions. Foreign companies can save more money on employment and meanwhile unemployment rate in developing countries decrease. For instance, there are many international organizations that invest and build their branches, offices and factories in India, which offers the most competitive labour costs in Asia, with the national-level minimum wage at around US$ 2.16 per day. In conclusion, it seems to me that the merits of applying foreign business investment to developing countries are more significant than only relying on their own domestic companies.