Advertisements are becoming more and more common nowadays. Is it a positive or a negative development?

Currently, people are exposed to a significant amount of advertisements making them a more common fact of daily life. I firmly believe that advertising is more of a positive trend than a negative one. A potential advantage of advertisement is that it introduces more options to buy for consumers. Each brand and product is required to be publicized and become well-known to consumers if they want to receive attention from buyers and make a sale as well. As a case in point, adverts which run at the prime time TV schedules or between important events usually cost the most for companies. It is a clear indicator that the possibility of brand familiarity through ads is what they are attempting to accomplish. Another positive aspect of marketing is the better quality of products. This means that for a commodity to be chosen or a brand to become elite, consumers need incentives such as better quality or a new feature. The smartphone market is a clear manifestation of this in which every year huge corporations present novel attributes to their merchants so that they can provide them with the necessary profit to survive. Despite the mentioned advantages, there are drawbacks to consider as well, one of which is customer confusion over what to buy. The vast majority of ads for a particular product are essentially promoting the same thing which makes it difficult for buyers to decide. Picking up a shampoo from a shop, for instance, is becoming increasingly hard because of the fact that no brand presents us with any distinction over others. Furthermore, recently ad agencies are convicted to have presented us with misinformation regarding the commodities’ quality. They might misrepresent facts in order to present the product so that it is more appealing than it actually is. For example, in 2013, it becomes publicly evident that Volkswagen company, which is a car manufacturer in Europe, produced vehicles that were emitting pollution much more than the standard amounts whereas in their marketing,campaigns they were indeed bragging otherwise. In conclusion, the expansion of advertisements in our daily lives is comparatively a more positive phenomenon than it is a negative one.