Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services? Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The discussion about who should pay the hospital bills is always around. While some people argue that the government obliges to bail it, others think that it is the patient's responsibility. I believe it is the authorities' obligation and I will elaborate on the reasons in this essay. On the one hand, people's expenditure should become their own liability because they are the ones who receive the services. Just like other activities, such as eating or shopping, paying the bills is entitled to a personal matter, thus, they have to work for it. Furthermore, there is no fundamental difference between those needs that makes hospital bills more important. In other words, because the behaviour of paying the bill is the same as other needs, it must be treated as personal spending, not a government accountability On the other hand, the government as the authority that has the big budget could potentially waive the bills if they want to. Moreover, ensuring people's health is one of the tasks the government have to fulfil. A country that waives the bills also tends to have a better economy as their people are fit to do the jobs, exciting economic growth. For example, Switzerland has been paying its citizens' bills since decades ago, resulting in high productivity and stable economic growth. To summarize, although paying the hospital bill is a personal expenditure and should be people's obligation to pay for it, I believe the governments must waive it because they have a lot of money and it is their task to ensure their citizens' health. Hence, I think that the officials should responsible for it.