Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree and disagree that constantly increasing is an appropriate goal?

So many clothes are produced and then thrown away. This mentality is adopted for almost every item that people would want to possess. The current society is very materialistic and not at all trying to be minimalistic, which would be a great way of living. But many people think that their country should produce more materials and goods. But would that be a good thing to do? Firstly, I absolutely disagree with the current materialism. We all possess too many goods and most of them are not even used, and are just thrown after a while, after realising that they are not needed anymore. But deep inside they knew, it was never needed. The environment would very much appreciated it if we started living a minimalistic life. The Earth is a closed room. Everything that is being produced on this planet, stays here. But most of the trash is just being dropped into the oceans, which has giant impacts on this wonderful ecosystem, that is absolutely not responsible for our consumer behaviour. But on the other side I agree, that every country should be able to produce the things that they need. Local markets would be much more eco-friendly than just getting everything shipped from China, for example. That would maybe also reduce this overproduction, if every country would just be in the capacity to produce the materials they actually need. In conclusion, the materialism on this planet is getting worse, which is very bad for the environment. But if the things that are needed by the population would be produced in their own country, we could at least reduce the carbon emissions that result from shipping.