Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that governments should conduct and handle scientific research instead of private businesses. From my own standpoint, I utterly agree with this idea for several reasons clarified below. To begin with, letting private enterprises do scientific research independently seems to have a certain number of downsides. First, these companies tend to do research to innovate their own products and services, which mainly aims to maximize the profits that they can gain from consumers rather than help the public’s mutual benefits. Second, private corporations empowered to conduct scientific research can copy the research results from other ones, which creates an unfair competitive environment. This is more likely to make difficulties for governments in examining and issuing patent licenses for these companies. On the other hand, I support the idea that governments should carry out and monitor scientific studies. The first possible reason is that governments are more likely to have greater funding than private companies which ensures the stable flow of money that would be poured into each stage of the research process when needed to maintain the progress of research projects. In addition, governments are able to perceive critical issues that they are faced with and need to tackle first, such as poverty or inflation. Subsequently, they can allocate their available resources like universities or research centres to find out feasible and applicable solutions to tackle these problems in the quickest possible time. The Vietnamese government, for example, right after the presence of first cases catching the COVID-19 virus, empowered the Ministry of Health to invent a vaccine against the devastating effects caused by the virus, which already saved thousands of lives throughout the country afterwards. In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is much better if scientific studies are implemented and managed by the governments.