Some people think that young people should go to university to further their education while others think they should be encouraged to work as car mechanics or builders etc. to serve society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, especially in the more developed country, going to university is seen as a must or something without what is impossible to enter society and have a decent life. This ideology is so profoundly radicated into our minds that some young people feel forced to choose universities that are unsuitable for their interests. This is a very deceptive way of thinking. First, the assumption that taking a bachelor can guarantee safer and more prosperous jobs is at the foundation of this idea. Probably for some universities might be accurate, but for very few, such as medicine. This false idea is embedded in our parents' empirical experiences, which was almost true. Nowadays, there is so much competitiveness due to the thousands of people attending universities, that a bachelor is no more a distinctive factor between people. Students have to enrich their cv with something more, for example, experiences or several languages spoken. At the same time, we can not consider that a bachelor is required to reach specific work positions. However, working in manufacturing jobs can also be extremely satisfying and, at the same time, on some occasions, very profitable. In some sectors, there is a lack of labour. For example, I have talked to a specialist plumber, and his boss told him that there is no competition in his sector nearby where we live. Obviously, he said he is happy about this at the moment, but he is concerned about the lack of young people willing to do his job, even if the prospect of work is positive. In conclusion, we have to change our approach to manufacturing jobs by quitting demonizing them as something unworthy and starting to show what they can offer, in the long term, to young people.