Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is irrefutable that there is a proliferation of advertisements these days. So, it is believed by some individuals that advertising campaigns are thriving in convincing the market to buy commodities, while there are others, including me, who opine that due to their prevalence, advertising can be ignored. On the one hand, according to some, advertising can persuade people to buy their merchandise because it set spot-on targeting. Although it may be very direct and aggressive, it is more likely to remind the customers that they are capable of addressing their needs. In other words, they can easily change their target audiences' attitudes towards what they provide and sell. Furthermore, ads seem to be plastering urban areas and they constantly pop up on the screen of computers or smartphones. They, therefore, raise community's awareness about their recently launched products, so they might be encouraged to purchase those items. On the other hand, many people agree that, in a spite of the fact that human beings are subjected to advertising and bombarded by marketing messages everywhere, they have become accustomed to these sources of distraction. It means, while advertising seems to be ubiquitous nowadays, humans have the ability to pay no attention to these signals. To illustrate, if an annoying television advertisement interrupts their favourite TV show or movie, they will turn off the sound on the TV or switch the channel during ads. The other example would be installing AdBlockers on the browsers. Humans are, thus, used to incessant advertisements and able to focus on something else rather than watching it over and over. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I think that the wide exposure to advertising could make human beings take no notice of their messages and resist their effort to brainwash customers.