Nowadays, people all over the world are spending more and more time apart from their families. Why is this happening? How does this affect people and their families? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While communication is being broadened beyond households, family members begin to spend time apart and at a distance. This can result in both positive and negative outcomes and can affect families in many ways. First things first, social media can be a culprit for such phenomenon leading to a wider circle of acquaintance and ultimately friends. Particularly, young adults and teenagers seemingly prefer to favour their same-aged friends over their parents. One obvious rationale for this is the more similar a group’s age is, the more their thoughts and hobbies resemble; thus, they could enjoy more time together. Secondly, there has always been an urge to live independently in children as they grow up, and by the time they reach adolescence it peaks. Hence, they will be willing to tolerate all the inconveniences following living alone. Regarding the effects, less time with family probably leads to less dependence which can be considered as merit in some cases. For instance, it forces them to provide for themselves; therefore, developing employment and economic turnover. On one hand, the elderly themselves might require staff to take care of them on behalf of their children who have their concerns at that age, once again employing individuals to help with them. On the other hand, developing communication circles and socializing more can help expand cultures, familiarize with various personality types, and gain more experience. As an example, my sister moved to another country to further her education. At first, she did not realize she would feel so lonely and start missing us this much, but after considering her gains, she started to tolerate it all. In conclusion, as strange as it sounds, living alone in a remote country has its advantages and can outweigh all the losses one has to tackle.