In today's world, private companies rather than government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Today, most of the scientific research is being invested in and undertaken by independent firms. while I accept that this issue may have some drawbacks, I strongly believe that its benefits are greater. On the one hand, there is a wide range of disadvantages to science-related studies conducted by private organizations. Firstly, the government may fail to control all the research activities if companies owned by individuals are utterly empowered to do important research. This will beget severe effects on society. For example, illegal experiments on animals will not only pose the threat of species extinction but also affect the ecosystem seriously. Or some studies on nuclear or radiation may contribute to a polluted environment as well as people's health unless they are appropriately controlled. And contagious diseases will be widely spread once medical experiments are ill-performed. Secondly, the government will not get any business interest but tax. Companies can receive a huge amount of money and gain a reputation when they succeed in scientific research, they only pay a small amount of tax to the government instead. On the other hand, I would argue that the downsides are outweighed by the upsides. The first advantage is that people will get benefits from successful studies. For instance, vaccines against the Covid-19 pandemic have protected people from being infected, and universe-related studies enable humans to travel outer space. The second advantage is that the government puts its name on the map in case a new scientific discovery is made. There will be more foreign investments, which boosts economic growth. Last but not least, these accomplishments will encourage the government and companies to cooperate in terms of further scientific research. In conclusion, while private-conducted scientific studies may have some negative aspects, I believe they are outweighed by the more significant positive aspects.