Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this element.

Some people argue that the government should invest their budget in public transport like improving railways and stations rather than being invested in roads. On this order of ideas, this proposal will provide significant benefits to those that are in the need to commute for work, studies and recreational purposes. However, keeping a balance between railways and roads is the key in order to satisfy the needs of the community in general. This essay will discuss a bit further some of the benefits that could be reached for citizens. There is a fact that rail transport is often considered a more sustainable and environmentally friendly option compared to road transport. This is a starting point for the government to promote investment in renovation or increase the route that could be covered by railways around cities, interstate connections and all over the country facilitating user commutes in their daily routines. It will reduce congestion in cities because have a higher passenger capacity per trip, which is directly related to the reduction of ecological impact in terms of carbon monoxide emissions. In addition, a good plan for railways will shape cities and help those living in rural or remote areas increasing their accessibility and mobility with an affordable and safe option for commuting. The Brisbane railway renovating systems will offer their citizen in 2025 extra options to commute into the city with the development of the new Edward Steet Station, which increases the options for those that need to commute from the suburbs into Brisbane City and decongestion of the Fortitude Valley and Central Station. Additionally, it will stimulate economic growth, provide jobs and enhance trade opportunities. In other order of ideas, all these developments will contribute to increasing tourism making their destination more accessible. For example, Brisbane where the Olympics games will be hosted, at the moment has been developing and renovating all the railways with the aim of providing the best options to their citizen in terms of public transport and easiest access all over Brisbane for the amount of tourist that will be hosted during the Olympic games. In conclusion, I totally agree with the statement that the government should invest part of their road budget in railways to reduce the environmental impact and increase the mobility options for the community but without forgetting the regular road maintenance for those citizens and the economic sector that needs to still be users of the road system.