Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is undeniable that violent crime is one of the most challenging issues in the western world. Thus, some people recommend that the death sentence should be the punishment for dire crimes such as murder, rape, and assault. However, others disconcur with the notion. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of the death penalty and state my opinion in the following paragraph. There are two notable advantages to sentencing criminals who commit violent felonies to death. The most significant benefit is that such punishment will serve as a deterrence to these crimes. In other words, it will, therefore, conspicuously alleviate the rate at which grave crimes occur in a community by discouraging prospective offenders. Another merit is that the death penalty reduces the chances of illegal escape. Enforcing capital punishment on these wrongdoers will eliminate the possibility of a jail inmate breaking out. Likewise, remove the susceptibility of someone else falling victim. For example, Lagos state experienced a noticeable fall of 70% in grave crimes since the government adopted the death penalty. On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks to judicial execution. Firstly, this kind of punishment is irreversible. People jailed wrongly could be released and compensated for inconveniences. However, that might not be the case in wrongful execution. Moreover, Justice is bound to make mistakes. For instance, sometimes innocent people get executed for crimes because of insufficient investigation. Finally, the death warrant is inhumane as it mitigates the possibility of criminals repenting and turning a new leaf through rehabilitation. In conclusion, in my opinion, I believe that the pros outweigh the cons of capital judgment as it is the best way to regulate serious crimes and ensure a safe society.