In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is common to see more and more people wear modern clothing such as suits and jeans in many parts of the world these days. This is, for the most part, a change for the better, though there are some negative implications. At the outset, there are some valid concerns over this rising trend of wearing modern, western outfits. The most worrisome aspect of this phenomenon is the loss of cultural values. Because traditional clothes are representative of our cultural identity, less common use of this type of clothes is likely to lead to the disappearance of our cultural norms. The popularity of western attire might also spell doom for local businesses that specialize in making traditional items of clothing. As more and more people purchase modern outfits, there will be less of a market available to domestic manufacturers. This is compounded by the idea that the skill of traditional clothesmaking might be lost as a result of the trend in question. I, on the other hand, see the growing popularity of western clothes as a positive turn of events. The main reason here is practicality. Most western clothes tend to be flexible and durable compared with traditional ones due to the fact that the former is made of synthetic fabric, which is known for being elastic and long-lasting. More on the practicality argument, western clothes provide better insulation on cold winter days and more air circulation on hot days of summer: a western coat with several layers of coating is clearly superior to a single-layered quilt Uzbek chapan. Besides, western outfits are preferable as far as professional representation is concerned. This can be reflected in the instance of white-collar workers who tend to wear a black suit and a white shirt, as opposed to blue-collar workers who wear jeans and a T-shirt. In conclusion, while some object to the idea of wearing western clothes on cultural and economic grounds, I would argue that more people should be encouraged to adopt a western look for practical reasons such as flexibility and distinguishability.