Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

It is true that illiteracy is widespread even in today's era. While this could cause some drawbacks to individuals as well as society, there are steps that government can do to tackle the problems. There are two main issues that illiteracy can lead to. Firstly, a high illiteracy rate may bring about poverty in society. To elucidate, people having no knowledge of how to read and write can struggle to get a high-standard job with a stable income. Instead, they might have to apply for a low-paid manual job, which makes them difficult to get basic necessities such as affording for food or clothes in such an increasingly extortionate life nowadays. Secondly, illiteracy can also result in a rising crime rate. As a matter of fact, due to the lack of basic skills like reading or writing, many youngsters remain unemployed, leading them to take desperate steps to survive and provide for themselves and their families. Consequently, an increase in illegal activities like crime or drugs is likely to happen. However, these problems can be alleviated if governments implement the two following measures. Firstly, governments could provide free education to people lacking in reading or writing knowledge so that these people could get a better job in the future and make ends meet. Secondly, children under the age of sixteen should be made to study at school mandatorily. By this, the illiteracy rate can decrease dramatically. For example, the Vietnamese illiteracy rate in the 1900s was so high at more than 90 per cent. Nevertheless, after laws on compulsory school for children who are under sixteen were imposed, more than 90 per cent of the population are now able to read and write. In conclusion, a high illiteracy rate could have some negative consequences on individuals and societies and governments should take steps to tackle this alarming issue.