Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that boys and girls should be taught in different schools, whereas others believe that kids would learn more by studying in a co-educational system. This essay discusses both viewpoints; however, I strongly agree with the latter because attending mixed schools allows a well-rounded development of children. According to some individuals, schools should be gender-segregated because during adolescence, when children are going through puberty and experiencing different emotions, they often become infatuated with the opposite sex and therefore get distracted from their studies. Moreover, schools are the prime time for learning, so teaching them in different schools would allow them to keep their focus on getting an education rather than losing focus. On the contrary, many people believe that attending mixed school is more beneficial for children. It allows them to learn necessary social skills, and learn about the other gender. Various studies have shown that people who studied in co-ed schools have much more confidence than the ones who studied in single-gender schools. This remains a contentious topic, however, I strongly concur that studying in mixed schools allows kids to learn about differences in genders, which makes them more considerate and understanding of the other person’s needs. For instance, there was an experiment done with two boys: the first one was from an only-boys school, while the second one was from a co-ed school. They were both asked about menstruation, and it was surprising to note that the first boy felt like it was something alien and should not be addressed in public, whereas the boy from the co-ed school confidently explained the process. Based on this experiment, we can conclude that by studying in co-ed schools, children learn about the gender differences and respect each other more. In conclusion, people with both viewpoints have their own valid justifications; however, in my opinion, the benefits of studying together surpass the disadvantages by a substantial margin.