Nowadays, many people commute by public transport in most big cities around the world. What are the reason for this? What can be done to improve public transport?

In this day and age, public transport is the main way of travel for a lot of people who live in megalopolises. We usually encounter big buses moving on the street, or crowded train stations in rush hour. I will outline several reasons for it and a number of possible ways to encourage more people to use them. It is really easy to understand why public transport is so popular in urban areas. Firstly, urban civilians have to deal with high prices so they try to save money as much as possible. Moreover, ticket fees for public transport like buses and subways are very cheap, much cheaper than fuel for motorbikes. Especially, if you ride a personal transport like bike or motorbike, you have to find a place to park and sometimes it will cost a small fee. Furthermore, while motorbike drivers are age restricted and require a license, public transport is for anyone from students to elders as long as they buy a ticket. Going to school or work by public transport will help reduce traffic jams and air pollution, so this trend should be encouraged by effective measures. Some people rather go out immediately by their private vehicle than waste time waiting at the bus stop. It can be improved by decreasing the time between two trips. In addition, many people are afraid to go by public transport because of the danger caused by the overcrowdedness. At rush hours, there are so many passengers that they have to stand really close to each other, which is the chance for bad guys to intermingle and pick passengers' pockets. Therefore, the use of public transport will rise significantly if we upgrade capacity and set up security cameras inside public transport. In conclusion, public transport is in demand due to being low-cost and convenient for all ages. There are many feasible ways to improve public transport.