Some people say that in our modern age it is unnecessary to teach children handwriting skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, modern technology has enormously changed our lives and therefore some people argue that teenagers should not be taught handwriting skills. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this idea. From a personal perspective, there are several reasons why learning handwriting skills is essential. Firstly, this helps students to develop a sense of aesthetics. For example, in China, Chinese characters can be written in multiple ways according to individual styles, and this can be seen as a form of art. Secondly, these pieces of handwriting can be artworks attracting many people. For instance, calligraphy is considered one of the most significant artworks in Japan and China. It has been protected historically, and works written by prominent figures are sold for a high price. Finally, there are still many impoverished students who do not have the access to technological equipment. On a societal level, it is also vital to teach children how to write. Characters or letters have a strong connection with the cultural background of a language. If individuals only know how to type, then they will not be able to write in the future and some of the characters may be lost forever. For instance, there will be no more handwriting advertisements and this is undoubtedly a loss of artwork. Furthermore, in order to implement this measure, a huge number of funds are needed from governments and schools to ensure that all students are equipped with tablets or computers, which would be a heavy burden for authorities and institutions. In conclusion, although we are living in a modern world, I believe that handwriting skills are still indispensable for children and reasons have been given from both individual and societal perspectives.