Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today's world of sophisticated technology, utilizing high-tech devices such as smartphones, computers and so on is considerably popular among young generations. Additionally, they are more likely to devote noticeable time to use their smartphones. In the following, not only why is this phenomenon prevalent but also why I perceive this as a negative development will be explained. On one hand, we are witness to overusing of smartphones among children every day. First of all, from my perspective, it is mainly because of their convenient access to these apparatuses and their parents are not plainly capable of resisting the peer pressure which their kids are put under. Therefore, they provide them with mobile phones whenever they asked. Secondly, due to much more time parents spend in their workforce in order to satisfy their family's needs, they inevitably will not possess enough time to be with their youngsters and communicate with them. Thus, their children are keen on using their smartphones to make friends via some online social networks for instance in order to deal with their loneliness by interacting with their counterparts. On the other hand, in spite of the fact that today there are many developments taking place in terms of technology, some children are using their top-of-the-line portable mobile phones. In my opinion, this can have some negative impacts on shaping their personality. As an illustration, through involving with their smartphones to a high extent, they prefer to undertake such passive tasks that their mind will be going to lazy and less creative as time goes on. In addition, they can mimic some unacceptable aggressive behaviours shown on some sites and applications on their phones and because children's personalities do not shape completely in their childhood, this can result in undesirable consequences. In conclusion of what aforementioned, preventing youngsters from using smartphones is not viable action certainly. Besides, parents could be taught how effectively they can control the amount of time their children spend on their mobile phones in order to protect them from some destructive effects.